Lipstick Rose Frederic Malle

Β nd.2799 (1)

Β  Β  I purchased this in the 100ml from Barneys after pining for it over a year. I just love how soft and delicate it is. So prim and feminine. The name is very suiting and definitely gives me a reminder of vintage lipsticks. I’ve read other reviews accusing it of smelling like an old ladys makeup bag but I don’t get that impression at all.

Β Β  As a kid I would play in both mom and grandmother’s makeup bags (of course when they weren’t looking lol) so I am, oh so familiar with that smell- the conglomeration of various powders from crumbled compacts and broken blushes, combined with expired lipsticks gone sour and various spilled perfumes- this frag never EVER took me there, thank God!!

Β  Β  The opening is very light and powdery then gradually sweetens up but never becomes cloying, not even close. It lasts a really long time too, becoming a nice sweet skin scent, still present, at the 12 hour mark.Β 

Β  Β  The rose is a waxy smelling rose, but not so synthetic to be off putting and the violet backs it up, giving it a soft powderyness that is delicately supported by the vetiver and musk. The whole composition is very slightly sweetened by the amber, grapefruit, and vanilla.

Β  Β  The sillage isn’t major and with it being such a soft scent I could imagine one over spraying halfway through the bottle to compensate getting desensitized to such a delicate smell. Which is why I will only use this one occassionally. I love it so much I never want to take it for granted! β€πŸ’„πŸŒΉ
Β 
Season: All

Notes: Rose, Violet, Musk, Vanilla, Vetiver, Amber, GrapefruitΒ 

Purchase Lipstick Rose Here

 

4 thoughts on “Lipstick Rose Frederic Malle”

Leave a Reply

