Angel Thierry Mugler

download

This is such a strange scent. Angel seems to be very dependent on body chemistry. This controversial fragrance either ‘picks you’ or it doesn’t. I bought it recently as a complete blind buy, knowing the reviews were very polarized. Still my curiosity got the better of me.

I can somewhat pick up the chocolate, cotton candy, and patchouli. But there’s a very dirty note that makes me think of body odor and not in the oud kind of way but more in the Putain des Palaces way, only this one is much dirtier and very offensive, putrid even. Β Also there’s a soapy note in there somewhere believe it or not.

Β I would never picture an angel smelling like this unless it was, well, the fallen angel Satan himself, ‘the morning star’…Β  ha!

I’m positive it didn’t ‘pick me’ because I don’t smell divine wearing it or even get the nice gourmands; quite the opposite actually, Β a little dirty and naughty. Mostly it confuses me. Β It’s scandalous. It presents itself angelic but it’s very carnal and smells like sex. I keep wanting to smell my wrist where I sprayed it but am repulsed by each sniff but somehow keep being drawn back again for another sniff lol I don’t think I’ve ever been so perplexed by a perfume before. I don’t really know what to think. Makes me feel kinda weird actually. Β But bottom line: it smells disgusting on me. Β 

It DOES last a very long time and is a sillage beast. Do not, I repeat, do NOT over spray. You will share this frag with anyone within a meter of you. So it may not be an office appropriate frag. Also, unless you have a little money to burn or just want this icon in your wardrobe, which I did, I would not recommend this as a blind buy.

For being mainstream mass market, it does have the quality of a niche and the bottle is awesome! Also impressed by the fact that, in all its years of production, it has never been reformulated.

Whether you love it or hate it, anyone serious about perfumes must experience Angel at least once and pray it likes your chemistry! πŸ™‚

Season: Winter/Fall

Top notes:Β  Melon, coconut, mandarin orange, cassia, jasmine, bergamot, cotton candy

Heart notes: Honey, apricot, blackberry, plum, orchid, peach, jasmine, lily-of-the-valley, red berries, rose

Base notes:Β  Tonka bean, amber, patchouli, musk, vanilla, dark chocolate, caramel

Leave a Reply

