Vol De Nuit Guerlain

nd.49

Vol de Nuit is an amazing fragrance, once you get to the dry down heart of the perfume.  The opening is very strong, rather sharp, and metallic but once the opening phase is past, it transforms into the most beautiful powdery scent, very, very, lightly sweetened, like shortbread. 

I have the EdT and Parfum concentrations but find the EdT much easier to wear, which is completly opposite to every other perfume I have since the parfum is usually the smoothest, richest, and least harsh.  But in this case I find the EdT to be less tempermental.  Although my opinion on this one is subject to change as this has been a rollercoaster affair since day one. 

I admit, VdN and I got off to a rough start.  It took some time for me to really appreciate the beauty of this fragrance, as I, coming of age in the 90’s, really got my start with perfumes that were highly sweetened, aquatic floral bombs. 

I also didn’t have enough patience to wait for the dry down before judging this one. The first 15-20 minutes, VdN is very shrill and metallic on my skin, in the same way that Nahema extrait is, and I had a hard time getting past that.  I still haven’t got past it with Nahema but that’s another story for another day lol.

We live in an age of highly sugared, soapy clean, and fruity floral bombs.  They are very easy to wear and require zero sophistication.  They are a part of the “made for consumer market”, just as fast food and reality TV are.  But there is no artistry involved in them, any of them.  They’re easy to swallow, require no contemplation, easy to digest, and are created from a market tested approved cookie cutter production formula. 

Vol de Nuit predates this method of creation.  When Jacques Guerlain created this perfume, he had a vision and heart.  He wasn’t looking for anyones’ approval in this creation.  No true-to-self, authentic artist creates art for the sake of their audiences’ approval (commissions excluded, obviously).  This perfume is authentic art. 

I find myself coming back to revisit this one more and more frequently.  Jacques Guerlain was a master perfumer who created some of the most iconic perfumes of all time, this being one of them.  Just having the ability to experience that history is reason enough for me to want to  wear it but I find it more enjoyable and lovely everytime I put it on. 

Season: Fall/Winter

Top notes: Orange, Orange blossom, Galbanum, Mandarin, Bergamot, Narcissus, Lemon

Heart notes: Aldehydes, Narcissus, Iris, Vanilla, Violet, Carnation, Jasmine, Rose

Base notes: Spices, Sandlewood, Musk, Orris, Oakmoss

Leave a Reply

