Iris Ganache Guerlain

o.3810
ย 

I was gifted a bottle of this last December from a good perfumista friend who knows how much I love Iris and Vanilla notes in perfume and also how much I adore Guerlain.

One would assume then, that this would be my Holy Grail of perfumes, but alas, sadly no.Actually, I can see why it has been discontinued.ย 

Besides the fact that Orris butter is one of the most expensive raw ingredients in the perfume industry and Iris Ganache is loaded with it, this frag is VERY tempermental. Actually I’ll just go ahead and say it. Iris Ganache is Bipolar.ย  A real Dr. Jekyll and Mr.Hyde, if you will.ย 

On cooler, drier parts of my skin like my wrist and the back of my hand, itโ€™s incredibly beautiful. I get very soft powdery iris and loads of the sweet vanilla and white chocolate cream, and it IS delicious.ย  This truely is a rich olifactory treat. I would LOVE to taste whatever confection this scent resembles.ย  But unfortunately, the longetivity on these areas, for me, is terrible.ย  I sprayed it on, liberally, about an hour ago and itโ€™s just about completely faded away.
ย 
On the warmer, moister areas like the crease of my elbow and my neck, however, Iris Ganache paints a completely different picture.
ย 

On these areas IG has incredible longetivity but it turns into a very animalic, musky beast, that, quite franklyย  smells like sweaty crotch. The warmth and humidity seem to really develop and magnify the musks in the base. I get a whiff of a very urinal smell when the air wafts from where I sprayed on my neck and I reserve my expensive perfumes for use only after a shower, so I know that body odor is not playing any part of the scent.ย  I usually wear musks fairly well but for some reason, this one just doesnโ€™t cooperate with my chemistry.ย  Eeeeek!ย 

While I AM very thankful for the very generous gift from my friend and grateful to have such a rare and sought-after masterpiece in my collection, I donโ€™t think this will be in the rotation much since it just doesnโ€™t seem to really cooperate with my chemistry. Which is a shame but also a blessing at the same time. It would be an absolute heartbreak if this WAS my Holy Grail and no way of ever getting another bottle under $600 now that itโ€™s discontinued. โค

Season: Fall/Winter

Top notes: Cinnamon, Bergamot, White Chocolate

Heart notes: Iris, Patchouli, Cedar

Base notes: Amber, Vanilla, Musk

One thought on “Iris Ganache Guerlain”

Leave a Reply

