Rose Nacree du Desert Guerlain

nd.15132

 

I must admit, while this is a great Rose/Oud combo fragrance representing the highest quality and craftsmanship Guerlain has to offer, this is my least favorite of the Deserts d’ Orient collection. Don’t misunderstand, I don’t dislike it. I like it just fine. But I much prefer the other two from the collection.Β  I ordered it out of spite anyways, so that I may have the entire collection. I know. 😩

There is nothing remarkable or different about this fragrance other than the obvious quality and beautiful presentation. But at the end of the day, it’s still just another rose oud perfume.Β 

I must add, though, that the dry down at the very end IS very nice, heavenly even, and a bit different from the other ouds I have but it’s a very soft, sweet rosy skinscent and doesn’t represent the main experience of the heart.

The juice stays put a long time but that is something to be expected of oud and a perfume of this claiber and cost. The sillage is beautiful. The projection is moderate for an oud, which tend to be very strong and pungent.

Many other reviews claim this to smell like Midnight Oud by Juliette Has a Gun and I agree. They do smell very similar in that they are both Rose/Oud ‘light’. Diet Rose/Oud lol But when comparing them side by side there are obvious differences. JHaG frags always seem to have a syntheticness about them. Not that that’s a bad thing, just something about the houses offerings.

Guerlains, especially the exclusive lines, always smell much more organic and natural to me, and Rose Nacree is no exception. I make no claims as to what materials they use, but I would assume that many natural materials and the processes involved in extracting them would warrent higher costs, like rose absolutes and orris, since it requires aging. Obviously not all naturals. Lavender is relatively cheap, but I digress.

My favorite thing about this perfume is the presentation. I love the bottles’ gold design bib and the fact that you have an option of whether you want a splash or to use the spray. Also I think the color of the juice is beautiful!

While I can’t say that there’s anything profound about this perfume, it is a very nice and safe rose/oud perfume. It is of the highest quality, beautifully presented, and gives great longetivity and sillage for the cost. One spray will suffice, so you won’t run through the bottle too fast. But it is somewhat redundant in my wardrobe considering I already own Midnight Oud, Calligraphy Rose, Rose Anonyme, Rose d’Arabia, and Portrait of a Lady.Β  If I never added this to my collection, I certainly wouldn’t be heartbroken or missing anything very important.Β  In fact, I’m marking Rose Nacree as my last and final Rose/Oud perfume for now.Β  I just can’t justify buying any more in this genera at this time.

Season: Winter/Fall

Notes: Rose, Oud, Saffron, Benzoin, Patchouli

Leave a Reply

