Coco Mademoiselle Chanel

nd.611

“Always remember that you are absolutely unique. Just like everyone else.”
                                      -Margaret Mead

Coco Mademoiselle is one of those fragrances that I really want to hate, but just can’t.  It’s really a beautiful fragrance. No wonder everyone is wearing it.

I literally smell this anytime I go somewhere. It’s everywhere on everyone, if not this then FlowerBomb lol.  But it’s obvious why this frag is so popular.

CM is a very youthful perfume but it has a mature “grown up” vibe to it.  It makes me think of little girls playing dress-up, but not with “official dress-up” princess costumes, but rather, with moms stillettos, white gloves, and pearls.

CM is a Chanel afterall, and Chanel is known for being prim and proper. Very refined, ladylike, and with manners. Although overspraying this frag is very possible. The projection is way out there, even if not offensive and the sillage really lingers. But no reason to waste juice. Definitely use a light hand with this one.

I can see this as a girls intro to Chanel fragrances, along with the Chance line. Compared to the classic chanels, this is a sweeter, more modern “pink” perfume.

Even though it’s really a patchouli bomb, the other notes keep the patch very tamed so it never loses it classy floral vibe or drifts into hippie terratitory. On my skin I get lots of orange, jasmin, and roses with tonka and vanilla in the base.  The longetivity is outstanding and 2 sprays will last from morning to night and even into the next day.

But even with all the great, wonderful things I can say about CM, I still don’t want to smell like everyone else. When my bottle ran out I did not replace it even though I had the urge to.  I DO like it afterall but I’m not one to stay on the bandwagon for any length of time lol.

I suppose I will come back and revisit this one in the future, when the crowd has moved on to the new thing and this award winning perfume gets moved into the ranks with No 5 and No 22. It is, as we all know, destined for classic status.

Season: All

Top notes: Orange, Mandarin Orange, Orange Blossom, Bergamot

Heart notes: Mimosa, Ylang, Turkish Rose, Jasmin

Base notes: Tonka, Vanilla, Vetiver, Opoponax, Musk, Patchouli

One thought on “Coco Mademoiselle Chanel”

Leave a Reply

