Youth Dew Estee Lauder

nd.555 (1)

For me this isn’t just a “mom” smell, it’s my mother’s and was my (paternal) grandmothers signature scents, like they had a little ‘Youth Dew’ club or something lol

It’s all either of them ever wore, though my mom changed to ‘Knowing’ while I was in high school, and then to ‘Spellbound’ a few years after that, but ended up going back to YD a few years back.

I think the name is funny though, and completely inappropriate for the fragrance itself. Nothing about it says ‘youthful’ to me, except for maybe the shape of the flacon, which gives a nod to a ‘coke bottle figure’ and being skinny when you’re young. The juice is heavy, dark, balsamic, and spicey. Today, youthful frags are light, fruity, sweet, and pink.

I liked how it smelled slightly different on both of them because of their chemistry but still very clearly distinctive and always recognizable.

I would think that growing up with themΒ  wearing this that I’d have a preference to spicy, heavier scents, as I DO associate them with that maternal nurturing that was ingrained into my olfactory memory but nope, although I am starting to venture out into the more spicey and heavier fragrances, starting with ouds and woody florals.

I’m not even a really big fan of Estee Lauder for that matter and I have tried just about everything in their line since it was the first house I was introduced to as a young girl. Their fragrances are very good quality and I may eventually one day make my way back and try them out again someday. Tastes DO change afterall. But I am, and will probably forever remain, a Guerlain girl.Β 

Even so, I still keep a bottle of this around, though I never wear it,Β since my Grandmother passed on, as a way to stay connected to her. One sniff of this brings back years and years of memories. And even though the ‘straight out of the bottle” scent will never be what it was on my grandmother and I’m not really that fond of the frag in the first place, there will always be a special place in my heart for Youth Dew because of her and my mom. ❀

Season: Fall/Winter

Top notes: Aldehydes, Orange, Spices, Peach, Bergamot, Narcissus,Β  Lavender.

Heart notes: Cinnamon, Cassia, Orchid, Jasmine, Clove, Ylang-ylang, Rose, Lily of the Valley, Spices.

Base notes: Incense, Vetiver, Amber, Patchouli, Musk, Oakmoss, Vanilla, Peru Balsam, Tolu Balsam.

Leave a Reply

