Love in Black Creed

nd.4261

The first time I tried Love in Black I was on a trip in Playa del Carmen and my first thought was “Meteorites”, only sharper.ย  I loved the powdery volet and iris accord and ended up buying a bottle.ย  I couldn’t wait to test them side by side when I got home.

Although they are very different fragrances when comparing side by side, they are also very similar in that they share the powdery violet/iris, makeup vibe.ย  It smells like a very high-end fragranced compact.

It takes a while to get to that soft stage though. Love in Black is extremely shrill and metallic on opening and takes a bit to really settle. On my skin, this takes about 30 minutes.ย  The black currant battles the violets for center stage during the heart but once it dries and settles, it becomes a very soft, fluffy, powder.

I think it’s a very delicate, sweet perfume after dry down, although the black currant never really settles quite as much as I’d like it to. ย It’s not overpoweringly sweet though.

It never grows cloying on me either but sometimes it is a bit much in the opening.ย  Thankfully this one only gets softer and better over time. The final base notes are incredibly beautiful and somewhat reminiscent of Lipstick Rose with the violet and rose.

LiB has incredible longetivity for such a dainty perfume and leaves a gorgeous sillage. The projection starts out rather robust but gradually tapers off into an amazing skinscent that was still very present long after the Metrorites faded away completely.

To me, this perfume is all about make up and powder but it’s powerful enough to be a great evening prrfume, though I find it wears well during the day and year round at that, which is an acomplishment in itself.ย ย 

My first impressions of Creed was that the juice was understated and the house overhyped. But this frag is what really brought me around. This is my second purchase from the house after VIW and, though I wasn’t fully convinced of houses quality the first few times I tested their fragrances, LiB completely changed my mind. It’s a beautiful fragrance; strong but delicate and very long lasting.ย 

Season: All

Top notes: Italian Violet, Virginia Cedar, Wildflowers

Heart notes: Iris, Cloves, Musk

Base notes: Black Currant, Bulgarian Rose

Leave a Reply

