Rose d’Arabie Armani Privé

Giorgio_Armani-Armani_Prive-Rose_D_Arabie

It took me almost a year having this perfume to write a review of it. I tried to review several times but my attempts felt forced and unnatural. So I let the perfume tell me when I’m ready; when I am adequately acquainted with and experienced enough to critique it. 

I bought Rd’A last summer along with Myrrhe Imperiale while in Vegas, though it is truly not a summer fragrance! This is best reserved for cold weather as is ME, but for some strange reason I crave it more in warm weather.

First let me express how incredibly strong and potent this perfume is. It’s heavy, oily, and wears like a pure parfum! In fact, I don’t believe it should even be sprayed. It wears much better when dabbed.

It’s much too easy to overdo it with this perfume when it is sprayed. But when dabbed, it is much easier to control the amount applied. Dabbing also usually keeps the application to pulse points and that, in my opinion, is the best way to experience Rd’A.

This perfume is so strong that when sprayed, the notes are overwhelming and they all get lost in the mix. The result is a very bitter, patchouli dominate, sharp fragrance that is also very dry, dusty, and cold. 

But this is actually a very warm fragrance. The true beauty of this fragrance is the play on vanilla with the roses, both supported by oud. It’s almost gourmand; it’s so round, creamy, and the rose boozy and somewhat jammy.  The oud is present but is not dominate and the patchouli is mostly gone after drydown.

This leaves the most beautiful sillage and 1 spray can easily last 2 days.  It is a very unisex fragrance, though it does lean a bit masculine.

I highly recommend that if you do spray it on, that you only spray 1 spritz on your neck and immediately use your wrists to remove the excess sprayed and transfer it to your arms inside of your elbows so you cover your pulse points. This way you can really get to the heart of the perfume to enjoy it rather than being overwhelmed and mired in an overabundance of fragrance. But if you are willing, I recommend most, to use a non-atomized decant vial and dab it to the pulse points instead. 

The phrases “less is more” and “too much of a good thing becomes a bad thing” has never held truer than with Rd’A.  This gorgeous perfume can very easily become cloying and offensive to others if overapplied.  But if worn with reserve, you will definitely get your moneys worth. One bottle can last several years.  I suspect mine will last many years as I don’t wear it very frequently.

I have tested most of the Prive line and while all of them are high quality and beautiful fragrances, not all of them (black bottles) offer the longevity this one does. I believe Rd’A is really the best one in that it delivers the most “bang for your buck” with its potency and longetivity, and overall, it’s just a beautiful fragrance.

Season: Winter/Fall

Notes: Patchouli, Rose, Oud, Vanilla

Leave a Reply

