Orchidée Impériale La Créme Guerlain

GUERLAIN_Orchid_eacute_e_Imp_eacute_riale_Rich_Cream_Jar_50ml_1377774072.png

There’s no denying this is a good cream! It feels great. The texture and consistency is perfect! It absorbs quickly into the skin. And it even smells really good too! But does it really work? Like really work?? And is it worth it?

I’ve been buying Guerlain perfumes and cosmetics for several years now and on several occasions I’ve received travel size samples of the Orchidée Imperiale creams and toners. I tried to be as frugal as possible with them so as to make them last but became so bummed when I finished the samples that I ended up taking the plunge and ordered a full size jar.

I will be honest, I’ve spent well over $350 for perfumes before without even batting an eye but I always know in the back of my mind that I won’t be using it every single day so I know it will last many years.  This is not the case with creams. Skin care products are used everyday and $350 is a bit steep in my opinion but regardless, I bit the bullet and bought it. This is my skin after all, and who can put a price on looking young anyways, right?

I was in Vegas and purchased my 50 ml jar from the boutique in the Palazzo shops and not online so I had my jar to take with me that day and could immediately start using it. 

The jar itself is beautiful and heavy as it is thick glass. It could probably double as a weapon lol. The cap is gold metal, looking, probably gilded plastic, and it comes with a little spoon that fits into the inner plastic insert that keeps the cream from drying out. The spoon is a very nice ‘extra’ and keeps the cream from being contaminated by fingers.

I only apply creams after I’ve showered and have very clean skin. And I apply twice a day; in the morning when getting dressed and then at night before bed. I knew I was going to use this up pretty fast but was still as frugal in applying it as possible  without under applying it. I mean, it does take a certain amount to really moisturize the skin and neck after all the skin oils have been washed away with soap.

I managed to get about 3 and a half months out of the jar, which equates to about $130 a month.

So how did it perform?  Well first off it really is a good moisturizer. One application in the morning kept my face moisturized all day. And after a couple of weeks of use I really could tell a difference in my skin. It feels very luxurious too.

After 3 months of use I was actually getting compliments on how good my skin was looking. So I’d say it really does work! But there are a few MAJOR drawbacks to this cream.

First, it’s VERY spendy. Most people are just not willing to drop that much money on a cream. Personally I don’t think you can put a price on health and beauty, but this is the real world we’re living in.

Second, while I love the jar, it seems to be a great part of why it costs so much and the thought of these things piling up kind of makes me cringe. I suppose if you lived in Paris you could take your jar in for a refill but that isn’t an option here in Texas.

And third, I am just not a fan of my creams being packaged in jars. Spoon or no spoon, I don’t like exposing it to the air and dust particles or even mold spores found naturally in the air, besides the temptation to stick my fingers in for quicker application. In my mind all I can think about is that jar sitting there for 3 months festering.

As nice as this cream is, I’m on the fence as to whether I’d buy it again or not. If I had a money tree in the backyard I’d buy this by the gallon and use it on my entire body and pray I stay young looking forever! lol But I wish the packaging was less extravagant and a bit more practical. I’d really like to see it in a pump container at a lower cost. While it’s definitely a good cream, I’m not sold on it being completely amazing. I think I’ll stick to my samples and try to find an amazing cream and hopefully at a better value. ♡

Leave a Reply

