Kiehl’s Pure Vitality Renewing Cream

akiels2

 

When it comes to skincare products and especially face creams I am all about the samples. I try to get samples anytime I buy my perfumes, visit a beauty counter, and when I have sample options at the end of online checkouts, so I’ve literally survived for months maybe even a year already, on samples alone. And I always aim for the alleged top rated products too i.e. La Mer, Murad, Peter Thomas Roth, Orchid Imperiale, etc.  It’s not that I’m bumming. It just takes something REALLY good for me to go out and buy the full size product. And this one is really good! 

Like almost all other beauty products, I was introduced via a small sample that came from Neiman Marcus with one of my perfume purchases.  I was not exactly drawn to use it right away because the aesthetic of the packing and color isn’t something very eye-catching to me. I know I know, rather superficial. But it is  true that when it comes to beauty products, and really anything consumable, the market is literally saturated and we are advertised to through just about every channel possible, all the time.  So it really takes something that stands out to catch my attention. I wasn’t all that enthused to open the little sample packet when I finished up the previous one and moved on to the next, which is the routine I have come to know as of late.

But I was really surprised by how great this product ended up being because it doesn’t have the hype or the fancy packaging or the typical, astronomical price tag to go along with it. Granted it’s not exactly cheap BUT it’s not in that $350-$800 sucker range I’m ashamed to admit I’ve fallen for in the past. This is just a great product and it doesn’t need any extras to sell it. Period. 

The first thing I noticed was how creamy and thick it was, but unlike the really thick La Mer cream, this one actually spreads very easily and a little bit goes a really long way.   I had the impression that it was going to be sticky and really heavy but it’s not nearly as heavy as it felt on my hands. It feels water based.  The next thing I noticed was the scent. Now I will say that it doesn’t exactly smell great but it doesn’t smell bad either. It smells natural, like beeswax, and slightly sebaceous.  Normally this would turn me off a bit as I have become accustomed to my products smelling perfumed  or really clean, but the fact that it is such an amazingly great moisturizer completely outweighs the scent.  It also outweights the fact that I have a real dislike for open container face creams. I prefer  sealed pumps. It’s not a deal-breaker though and this one only comes in a jar. 

It also doesn’t make my skin oily through out the day like most other creams of this weight do, because while it’s not suffocatingly heavy, this is a pretty intense, deep moisturizer. It hasn’t clogged my pores though, which is a big deal because I have fairly sensitive skin that tends to react in breakouts to oily thick, super heavy creams or any major change in products really.  

My little sample lasted 3 uses and once I was out I immediately went online and ordered a full size. It runs about $80 for 2.5 oz, which I think is not bad at all considering how far this cream actually goes and how little is needed for application. There is also a 1.5 oz option for about $60. I HAVE been using this cream throughout the winter as the air tends to be more arid and much harsher on my skin than the humid summers here in the Texas gulf coast. So it may be too heavy for the humid Texas summer but I will definitely give it a try here in a few months to see.  But I do think this is the perfect cream to take to Vegas, which I frequent with my hubs during the summers, where the dry heat absolutely plays hell on my skin.

Bottom line, if you have dry skin, I absolutely recommend this product. If you live in an arid climate and do not own this already, you’ve waited too long! I’m not ready to say how this works in the humidity, to be continued on that note, but this will definitely be my go-to face cream for the winter and dry season! 

One thought on “Kiehl’s Pure Vitality Renewing Cream”

Leave a Reply

