Liaisons Dangereuses Typical Me By Kilian

nd.4321

Liaisons Dangereuses has been accused of being unsophisticated and immature by other reviewers but I think it’s gorgeous.Β  Even though it is a total peachbomb, it’s fantastic! And is one of very few bottles I’ve ever finished within a year, which for me is extremely rare. I just can’t get enough of it!

LD opens with sweet juicy peaches and ripe plums. It is rather sweet but nowhere near as sticky sweet as Love, Don’t be Shy.Β  It’s so fruity it is almost out of chypre territory, or at least from what I’ve determined to be chypre, but there’s just enough oakmoss in there to really tailor this into a classy creation.

There are a few notes in perfumery that are very difficult to pull off in any fragrance to be taken seriously by the fragrance community, namely coconut, strawberry, and peach. They tend to exist in niche fragrances only as supporting notes, like how the coconut in Carnal Flower supports the tuberose or the peach in Mitsouko serves only to sweeten the oakmoss a touch. But peaches in fragrances mostly fall into the teeny bopper Celebrity scents/ B&BW/ Victoria Secrets area of perfumes and body sprays. They are nice and smell good but they are not haute couture. Yeah, I’m getting a little snobby here, I know, but that’s how it is. In art you have “fine art”, “commercial art”, and “kitsch”. Perfumery is no different. And peach dominate frags tend to be in the commercial and kitsch areas of the market.

I haven’t been really captured by many of Kilians fragrances and tbh, think the packaging is a bit over-the-top and gimmicky, but I’m in total love with this fragrance😍.Β I found a tester sans packaging online under $100 and snatched it right up. And it has actually moved up into my top 10, knocking a beloved Guerlain off the list for this year. Eeek, I know.Β 

If you love peaches, you MUST give this one a good spray test if you happen to be by a Saks. Β Even if it’s out of your budget to purchase a full bottle, this perfume has really raised the bar for peach dominate fragrances in my opinion.❀

Season: This works well year round

Top: Peach, Plum, Coconut, Black Currant

Heart: Cinnamon, Geranium, Ambrette, Rose

Base: Vetiver, Sandalwood, Oakmoss, Musk, Vanilla, Woodsy notes

9 thoughts on “Liaisons Dangereuses Typical Me By Kilian”

    1. Oooh I tested that and it smells like straight up ganja on me lolπŸ˜‚ They ARE great quality frags though I’m a bit contemptuous about the packaging. Totally worth a try πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, and that’s the SFTS’s main feature, to smell like a joint πŸ˜‚ I’m wearing it for punk rock parties and so on. I like your reviews πŸ‘πŸΌ Waiting for more interesting stuff πŸ’–
        Btw what is wrong with the sample packs? I only had samples when I was an indy photographer ‘coz photo sites don’t pay much for landscapes lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

