Love Don’t Be Shy By Kilian

nd.4322

Calice Becker is a very well known “nose” in the fragrance world and the creator behind several perfumes I really love like Tom Fords Velvet Orchid, Christian Diorsย J’ Adore, and Vera Wang’s Rock Princess. She’s also the nose behind Liaisons Dangereuses By Kilian, one of my very fave’s, so I was super excited to try another one of her creations for this house.

An undaunted powerhouse of syrupy saccharine gourmand goodness, Love Don’t be Shy is fit for the Gods and isn’t shy at all. She is confident and self assured. Deliciously ambrosial.ย This has got to be the sweetest perfume I’ve ever smelled lol.ย 

Screenshot_2017-03-19-21-46-02-1.png

The main notes are vanilla, caramel, and sugar and while I don’t get very much caramel at all, I DO get lots of sweet vanilla and sugar. This is vanilla ice cream sweet. Not the pale yellow homemade style where the vanilla is spicy and obvious but super white softserve; refined and a bit more abstract.ย 

e6cd1ea2faca5c4c83c820ee8c94a0c9
ย 
It’s garnished great reviews but I can’t get past how overly sweet it is.ย  I am a fan of sweet frags don’t get me wrong, and based on the notes I should love it, but this one was just a bit too much for me. A bit cloying. And the longer it sits the sweeter it gets because the initial spray isn’t as sweet as it eventually becomes in the heart notes.

The sillage is great though and the longetivity is outstanding as it should be for a fragrance of this caliber. It really only needs one or two sprays to really project and last through out the day.

757959c4112ccb523c246e053d7ac1f4

If you are a sweet gourmand lover this one is worth giving a try though there really are other sugared vanilla frags out there for a much better value. By Kilians retail around $290 though I’ve seen testers on eBay as low as $80. But if you like sugar sweet, this is probably the creme de la creme of sugared vanillas.โค

Season: Winter

Top: Neroli, Bergamot, Pink pepper, Coriander

Heart: Iris, Rose, Jasmine, Honey suckle, Orange blossom

Base: Musk, Vanilla, Civet, Caramel, Sugar, Labdandum

One thought on “Love Don’t Be Shy By Kilian”

  1. I am chemically hypersensitive so can not use fragrance. I am in the USA. They put very toxic things in fragrances here. Maybe you could use your power and lobby them to make it safer? I miss fragrance.
    Your blog site is beautiful. Very well done. I am new and technically challenged. hehe
    Hope you have a lovely day. Diana xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

