Cuir Beluga Guerlain

nd.1019This is a gorgeous fragrance though I’m still not sure how I feel about the name since I don’t get any leather (cuir) from this perfume at all and also no patchouli as listed in the note pyramid. But regardless, as expected from Guerlains Exclusive L’Art et Matiere collection, it’s still a very wearable, unisex fragrance, leaning a bit more feminine, and also somewhat understated.

2017-04-03 15.37.52

This is a fairly light vanilla with a generous amount of heliotrope; the cherry almond note is unmistakable. Not subtle but also not cloying, this perfume projects moderately and lasts 4-6 hours on skin and even longer on clothes.

gold caviar

There are two ways I can interpret the name of this frag; “cuir beluga” meaning white leather or “cuir beluga” meanig the finest of leather, as in the “beluga caviar” of leather. Beluga caviar, known for being a fine delicacy, consists of eggs aka “roe”, from the beluga sturgeon fish, and is ranked by the color of the eggs. These fish can live to be well over 100 years old. The younger fish have darker eggs. The older the fish, the lighter the eggs, the more delicate the flavor, and the more scarce. White beluga caviar or “almas caviar” that is taken from a 100+year old female can fetch over $35,000 per kilo so very exclusive and very expensive. Somehow I feel both interpretations are suitable to the idea behind the fragrance even though I don’t think the juice quite lives up to that name.

edit flight jacket 1

When I think of leather notes in perfumes, I think of Songe d’un Bois d’Ete and Tuscan Leather on the heavier side. I think of Shalimar and Putain des Palaces on the lighter side. I think of birch tar and sweat and a carnal masculinity, none of which I find in Cuir Beluga.

d2593ac5d885d242263525b539da8e0f

In Cuir Beluga I find a soft powdery, cherry almond vanilla on the brink of gourmand. I find a comforting sweet fragrance that sits close to the skin and smells of the finest luxury bath soap and body cream that one would find tediouslyΒ arranged on the vanity in a world class pent house suite.Β 

Screenshot_2017-04-03-14-49-38-1

While I’m clearly not in agreement on the name of this perfume, one thing is for certain; it’s gorgeous and I must have it!  ❀

Season: Fall/ Winter

Top: Aldehydes, Tangerine

Heart: Patchoili, Immortelle

Base: Vanilla, Amber, Suede, Heliotrope

11 thoughts on “Cuir Beluga Guerlain”

      1. Ah! Yes, a very classic chypre. I have only read of it through references from other chypres but I have not had the opportunity to test it. Very cool you had it remade. I will have to check out that site. Thank you! 😁

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Idea: consider contacting them; do a special series on their process to product. Small firm, special talent. Try Susan Johnson, using support@scentmatchers.com. LoriAlyse, your field is not my area of expertise, so I hope you don’t mind my intrusion… Thank you for your kindness. Let me know if you develop that… 😁

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

